11 Truths I’ve Learned About Myself After Dating a Narcissists

If you want a crash course in self-discovery, date a Narcissists.

Chris Freyler
3 min readApr 24, 2024
Photo by Frames For Your Heart on Unsplash

I have been on a journey of self-awareness for the better part of four years now. I knew I was always missing something in my life. Hence the reason I would stay in toxic relationships too long, give trust to the most untrustworthy, and binge eat, and drink my way to happiness. At least that’s what I thought I was doing.

As I continued to self-destruct, a light bulb went off, and it was bright as fuck. It recently got more luminous, so bright I can’t dim it. I had to look directly into it. As I starred into it, I began to see spots. Spots where I have taken the wrong turn many times in life. Times where I put others before myself, and had no boundaries at all.

Especially times where I’d react to situations, and not respond. It’s a miserable way to live.

I was becoming a human doormat, and at the same time, developing anger of self-hate I could no longer live with.

With this, I made a conscious choice to change in my life what I had control over. The first thing I changed was my relationship with an abusive partner. I cut her out of my life 100%.

--

--

Chris Freyler

Mistake Maker Extraordinaire .Writing from a place I don’t understand at times. I write to help myself, in return hope it helps you. Just another Quora guy.