Comfort: The Main Reason Many Never Seek Change

Doing the uncomfortable is the only way to initiate change.

Chris Freyler
3 min readMay 29, 2024
Photo by Linus Nylund on Unsplash

It’s a simple strategy to change your life, just do what makes you uncomfortable. That alone is strategy enough.

I’m yet again, on “Day Three” of my struggle with binge drinking. It has taken its toll in every aspect of my life. Other than my “comfort” to get fucked up as often, and as quick as possible.

With being fucked up brought on many consequences, and 99.999% of them aren’t for the faint of heart.

It clearly shows the power of addiction.

Little matters when the uncomfortable feelings, and thoughts surface. When they appear, there is one way out, and it’s to escape in some of the most destructive ways.

There is little to no thought, other than “RELIEF.”

And if that relief has to come at the expense of others, so be it, the discomfort is too much. Drinking has a way of changing me, and not in a good way.

I will soon be embarking on a journey to the other side of the world, sober

I’m going to meet someone who understands me, and I understand her.

--

--

Chris Freyler

Mistake Maker Extraordinaire .Writing from a place I don’t understand at times. I write to help myself, in return hope it helps you. Just another Quora guy.