I Bought a Homeless Man a Beer; Here’s Why

Chris Freyler
4 min readNov 3, 2021

One-third of the homeless population is mentally ill.

Richard the Prophet and myself last year on Christmas

I used to think, “I’m not giving money to the homeless; they will spend it on drugs or alcohol.” If they wanted a job, they could get one! I was so annoyed with them when I was younger when I lived in downtown Cincinnati. While some are annoying, and many aren’t homeless, but “play” homeless to rake in some serious cash at times.

Fast forward 15 years, I’m 46 now and live just outside of downtown Cincinnati in a bit of a hipster area with a good vibe. There is a handful of homeless here; I’d say 9–10 regulars I see daily, then a few others passing through.

As I age, my interest, ego, awareness, and everything is changing. For the lack of a better word, my awareness is teaching me a lot. So I started talking to the homeless here, actually sitting with them.

I had a favorite, Richard the Prophet, at least that’s what he calls himself. He would pray for my family members and me when we’d talk about everyday life. Richard wasn’t an addict at all, but he is mentally ill, at least from what I can tell. He is one of the most kind-hearted people I’ve ever met. He loves the harmonica, his bongos, and Jesus. He’s been missing the last couple of months, and that has me worried. I’ve asked around, and no one seems to know where he went.

--

--

Chris Freyler

Mistake Maker Extraordinaire .Writing from a place I don’t understand at times. I write to help myself, in return hope it helps you. Just another Quora guy.