One Reason People With Low Self-Esteem Never Believe Compliments

I wouldn’t say I don’t believe them; they just make me very uncomfortable.

Chris Freyler
2 min readSep 27, 2022
Photo by Sharefaith: https://www.pexels.com

It all stems from poor self-image. But many people with low self-esteem can never get enough compliments too. But I’m not one of them.

It all depends on my mood, too, and how life is treating me and how I’m treating myself. I look at how many people with Borderline Personality Disorder view people in their lives.

It’s like the all-white(good) or all-black (bad), which is determined by the amount of validation and approval I am getting that day.

I know it sounds fucked up.

My ex would compliment me a lot, but it never felt genuine. How? Because if she actually meant all the compliments, she gave me, then why do the things she did to hurt me? She had no conscience, just mean shit.

It’s very easy to see myself as all “good” or all “bad” at times, and I have trouble accepting the two can coincide with a “gray” area.

I believe this had to do with my childhood abuse. I was either praised as a “good” boy or shamed and physically and emotionally beaten for what my Dad viewed as a “bad” boy. I was five years old; I didn’t know.

--

--

Chris Freyler

Mistake Maker Extraordinaire .Writing from a place I don’t understand at times. I write to help myself, in return hope it helps you. Just another Quora guy.