The Painful Meaning Behind The Song “Anti-Hero” by Taylor Swift

It’s me, hi. I’m the problem; it’s me.

Chris Freyler
3 min readNov 15, 2022
Photo by Omid Armin on Unsplash

After experiencing toxic relationships, this song hit me in a whole new way I didn’t believe existed. There’s no better explanation put into a song of the confusion Narcissistic abuse can have on a victim. The song “Anti-Hero” puts a twist on the confusion that follows the gaslighting due to a manipulative relationship.

Initially

When I first heard the song on the radio, I thought Swift was talking about herself. And in a sense, I think she is. She is a roundabout-way hinting that no matter what she does, she will be characterized as manipulative and validating seeking, similar to that of a politician.

She is fucking confused. In my opinion, what she is describing is Communal Narcissism. She even drops the word Covert Narcissism in one of the lines. It can appear she is singing about herself unless you dig deeper into her lyrics.

Did you hear my covert narcissism disguised as…

--

--

Chris Freyler

Mistake Maker Extraordinaire .Writing from a place I don’t understand at times. I write to help myself, in return hope it helps you. Just another Quora guy.