Was it Narcissist Abuse?

Chris Freyler
3 min readAug 15, 2021

Abuse is abuse, it doesn’t need a label.

Photo by Debashis RC Biswas on Unsplash

As I sit here at the coffee shop, I still question myself. What the hell was it? I’ve been obsessed with this question for the better part of 3 years. I eat, sleep, and obsess about this topic day in and out. Looking for the miracle YouTube Video, Blog, advice, or suggestion from others to give my mind some relief. When is enough, enough? When will I quit obsessing about a “label?”

I lay awake many nights, “If I just knew for certain!” If I could label it Narcissistic Abuse, I could finally move on with my life. But I can’t, not just yet. So here I sit, writing another article on what the fuck happened.

What “happened” was abuse, plain and simple. Abuse is abuse. It’s different than physical abuse. We all know what physical abuse is. When someone puts their hands on us in an aggressive way, it’s easy to label. Her punching in my nuts, physical abuse. Pretty simple, right?

Emotional abuse is as simple as telling someone a certain behavior or action hurts you, but they repeat it. This is where it can get confusing. We are told to “not give up on our partner,” everyone has flaws! We are taught as long as the person says “sorry” or they are “trying” it’s OK to stay in abusive situations.

--

--

Chris Freyler

Mistake Maker Extraordinaire .Writing from a place I don’t understand at times. I write to help myself, in return hope it helps you. Just another Quora guy.