Why Choosing a Long-Distance Relationship is More Beneficial Than You Think?

Space can keep the spark in the air.

Chris Freyler
3 min readSep 18, 2022
Ex-wife and my sister

I know people say long-distance relationships are tough; I get it; they can be. I had one for five years before moving my ex-wife to Cincinnati.

It doesn’t take much to keep long distance exciting. Suppose you don’t see each other often. That “honeymoon” phase lasts a weeeeee bit longer than usual. I did all kinds of creative stuff with her. We were always planning trips monthly, deciding on where to meet.

There’s always a vacation to look forward to

I would see her once a month; she lived 750 miles from me. We would meet at different places between Augusta, Ga., and Cincinnati. Looking back, we had some of our best times in a lengthy distant relationship. There was always sadness on the last day, but sadness was quickly replaced with excitement for our next adventure! I loved surprising her.

There were times I would drive down and surprise her at work. The look on her face was priceless. She would run from behind the bar and jump onto me. Lol. She was a bartender at Applebees.

We had some great times in Savannah, Atlanta, Gatlinburg, Maggie Valley, Myrtle Beach, and other random places. There was a…

--

--

Chris Freyler

Mistake Maker Extraordinaire .Writing from a place I don’t understand at times. I write to help myself, in return hope it helps you. Just another Quora guy.