Why Covert Narcissism is The Worst Type of Abuse

When you experience one you will know exactly what I am talking about.

Chris Freyler
3 min readJun 17, 2024
Photo by Ana Itonishvili on Unsplash

I am trying to get away from taking the majority of the blame for what I went through. I’m big on accountability, but I can take it to the next level of accountability.

Yea, I realized what was going about three years into the abuse, hell, might it might have been year two. But “I” stayed, she wasn’t twisting my arm.

She clearly showed me time, and time again who she was with all the lies, cheating, gaslighting and manipulation. But here I stayed, waiting, hoping and begging her to change. That’s like any irrational mindset when in addiction. Hoping the person will change.

If I’d just stayed, and accepted the abuse, and her as she was, it would have been a lot easier. It’s when I would fight reality is when it really got bad. I was in my own little world of delusion.

Little did I know I was changing myself in this process.

I was doing further damage to an already fragile, emotional traumatized mind I had no idea was this damaged until I met her.

She’s gone now, about 14 months gone.

--

--

Chris Freyler

Mistake Maker Extraordinaire .Writing from a place I don’t understand at times. I write to help myself, in return hope it helps you. Just another Quora guy.